My Internship: Pure Luck Farm – Dripping Springs, Texas

Image

If you really want to learn how to do something new, learn from the best.

Well, in Texas, I believe I found the best. Meet Pure Luck Farm. Pure Luck is a second generation family-owned farm and dairy that was one of the first farms in Texas to be certified organic. Today they are a successful, small business operation boasting around 60 goats and a range of soft cheeses that win national awards. Additionally they sell organic fresh-cut herbs and used to sell fresh-cut flowers. 

I first noticed Pure Luck in a retail environment. After returning from an inspiring trip to Rogue River, Oregon to stay on Pholia Farm, I wanted to share my new love of goat cheese with friends. I invited a group of pals over to our house in South Austin, and started combing stores like Central Market and Whole Foods for local goat cheese products. And there Pure Luck was. Smart branding, clean packaging and a delicious product. For months to come, once Pure Luck was on my radar I was finding it everywhere – in ice cream at Lick, on cheese plates at ABGB, to a cheese basket received from Antonelli’s cheese shop. 

Image

I reached out to Pure Luck to offer in exchange for free marketing services (as by day I am the Director of Marketing at a mobile software company), whether they’d be open to me coming out to the farm a few times to learn more about cheese making and herd management. Although we’re only a month in, the relationship seems to be a great fit. Amelia Sweetheart (the owner and daughter of the founder) is extremely smart, strong and straight-forward. I believe she will be a great mentor to learn from for months to come. 

On my first visit out to the farm last month, Amelia greeted my husband and me and invited us in to sample cheese and try some local cider. Her house was filled with beautiful photography (I believe by her husband) and cool antiques. We chatted about the internship, and then Amelia took me on a 1.5 hour tour of her farm. Buck pen, doe pens, milking parlor and cheese making rooms were wonderful to walk through. I particularly enjoyed hearing more about a house they acquired and moved out to the farm to expand their operations by offering more courses in Spring of 2014. 

A few things that really struck me during my chat with Amelia include:

  • If you’re going to change, start first with small changes. Don’t overcommit yourself. 
  • Do what feels right and stay true to yourself. 
  • Don’t spread yourself too thin.
  • Build products that are quality that align with who you are. 

Image

Leave a Reply

